angry monk newsletter english deutsch français
 
     
 
 
 
 
   
 
   
 

excerpts of texts

 

biographical notes

 

interviewees

 

director on gendun choephel

   
   
 

Childhood in Eastern Tibet (1903-1927)
Gendun Choephel was born 1903 in a small village in eastern Tibet, near the silk road, at the Chinese border, in a remote region populated by nomads. This region was inhabited by Muslims, Chinese and Tibetans that were constantly fighting each other. The villages often were attacked and looted by warlords. In this explosive and mixed cultural climate Gendun Choephel started to be interested in his Tibetan identity early on. He received a traditional education as a monk in the most important monastery of the region, where he developped a friendship with an American missionary that the other monks and his family resented. In 1927 he left the monastery and moved to Lhasa with a caravan of merchants.

 
           
     
       
   
Zhöpang, Gendun Choephel's birth place   Drepung Monastery, 1930  
 
           
       

Monastery education in Lhasa (1927-34)
In Lhasa Gendun Choephel studied in Drepung, the biggest monastery in the world. His rebellious attempts to bypass the monastery’s rules annoyed the other monks. Ultimately, monastic life suffocated him too much in Lhasa as well and he left the monastery. Afterwards he survived as a portrait painter and artist for rich aristocrats in Lhasa. In 1934 he met Rahul Sankrityayan, an Indian researcher of Buddhist teachings who also was a communist activist for the Indian struggle for independence from British colonialists.

Journey across Tibet (1934-1938)
Rahul Sankrityayan and Gendun Choephel travelled together across Tibet searching for old texts that were destroyed in India centuries earlier but had survived in remote monasteries in Tibet. For Rahul, historical research is part of his political fight; for him researching history is the key to the present. Gendun Choephel was Rahuls translator as well as his mediator for Tibetan culture. At the same time the fascinating stories about India awoke his curiosity.

 
           
     
           
     
Rahul Sankrityayan, 1940's   Sketch, India 1942   India, 1945  
 
           
 
ANGRY MONK
Reflections on Tibet
a film by Luc Schaedler
Switzerland 2005
1:1,85 • 35mm • Colours
97 minutes • Ov/d
   

Journey across India (1938-1946)
In India, Gendun Choephel was confronted with a foreign world. For the first time he saw a railway and other technological achievements. India was then undergoing radical changes and, contrary to Tibet, the Indians took their destiny into their own hands. The fight for independece was at its peak. Gendun Choephel’s view of his own culture started to change; in India he experienced the most creative phase of his life. He travelled across the country as a Buddhist pilgrim, lived in the crowded city of Calcutta, saw the ocean, visited brothels and libraries, wrote his first newspaper articles and translated the Kamasutra in Tibetan, enriching it with his own experiences. He sent many of his writings, notes and sketches back to Tibet in order to convey his impressions of a foreign world.

Return to Tibet (1946-51)
In 1946 Gendun Choephel returned to Tibet passing through the Indian-Tibetan border town of Kalimpong which, next to British and Chinese agents, was a nest of radical Tibetans who fell out of grace with Lhasa’s government. In 1939 they founded the Tibetan Revolutionary Party. Choephel got acquainted with the party and designed their logo: a sickle crossed by a sword. The Tibetan Revolutionary Party’s goal was to overthrow the tyrannical regime in Lhasa. When Gendun Choephels arrived in Lhasa the Tibetan government was already informed about his political activities. He began to write the political history of Tibet but this attempt was abruptly stopped by his arrest. He was accused of insurrection and thrown in jail for three years. In 1949 he was freed. But his heart was broken and he drowned his desperation in alcohol. Soon afterwards the Chinese army overran the Tibetan troops in eastern Tibet and, in 1951, shortly after the occupation of Lhasa by the Chinese army, Gendun Choephel died. Supposedly he commented on the political events of his era in this way: "Now we’re fucked!."

angry monk newsletter english deutsch français
 
     
 
 
 
 
   
 
   
 

auszüge aus texten

 

biographische angaben

 

interviewpartner

 

regisseur über choephel

   
   
 

Kindheit in Osttibet (1903-1927)
Gendun Choephel wird 1903 in einem kleinen Dorf in Osttibet geboren, nahe der chinesischen Grenze. Das abgelegene Nomadengebiet liegt an der Seidenstrasse, bewohnt von Muslimen, Chinesen und Tibetern, die in ständigem militärischen Konflikt stehen. Die Dörfer werden oft von rivalisierenden Kriegsfürsten überfallen und geplündert. In dieser explosiven Mischkultur setzt sich Gendun Choephel schon früh mit seiner tibetischen Identität auseinander. Er geniesst eine traditionelle Ausbildung als Mönch im wichtigsten Kloster der Region. Seine Freundschaft mit einem amerikanischen Missionar wird ihm von seinen Mitmönchen und der eigenen Familie übel genommen. 1927 verlässt er das heimatliche Kloster und zieht mit einer Handelskarawane nach Lhasa.

 
           
     
       
   
Zhöpang, Geburtsort Gendun Choephels   Kloster Drepung, 1930  
 
           
       

Klosterausbildung in Lhasa (1927-34)
Hier studiert Gendun Choephel in Drepung, dem grössten Kloster der Welt. Seine rebellischen Versuche, die klösterlichen Regeln zu unterlaufen, stossen auf den Unmut seiner Mitmönche. Schliesslich wird ihm das Klosterleben auch hier zu eng und er tritt aus dem Kloster aus. In Lhasa hält er sich als Portraitmaler und Künstler für reiche Adlige über Wasser und macht 1934 die folgenreiche Bekanntschaft des Inders Rahul Sankrityayan: ein Buddhismus-Forscher und kommunistischer Aktivist des indischen Unabhängigkeitskampfes gegen die britischen Kolonialisten.

Reise durch Tibet (1934-1938)
Gemeinsam reisen sie durch Tibet, auf der Suche nach alten Texten, die in Indien vor Jahrhunderten zerstört wurden, in Tibet aber in den abgelegenen Klöstern überlebt haben. Rahul sieht seine historische Forschung als Teil seines politischen Kampfes — die Erforschung der Geschichte als Schlüssel zur Gegenwart. Gendun Choephel ist nicht nur Rahuls Übersetzer, sondern auch Vermittler der tibetischen Kultur. Und umgekehrt erregen die faszinierenden Geschichten von Indien seine Neugier.

 
           
     
           
     
Rahul Sankrityayan, 1940's   Skizze, Indien 1942   India, 1945  
 
           
 
ANGRY MONK
Reflections on Tibet
von Luc Schaedler
Schweiz 2005
1:1,85 • 35mm • Farbe
97 Minuten • Ov/d
   

Reise durch Indien (1938-1946)
In Indien wird Gendun Choephel mit einer ihm fremden Welt konfrontiert. Er sieht die Eisenbahn und andere technische Errungenschaften zum ersten Mal. Das Land ist im Umbruch und im Gegensatz zu Tibet haben die Inder ihr Schicksal in die eigene Hand genommen. Der Kampf für die Unabhängigkeit steht auf dem Höhepunkt. Gendun Choephels Sicht auf die eigene Kultur beginnt sich zu verändern — Indien wird seine kreativste Zeit. Er reist als buddhistischer Pilger durchs Land, lebt in der Millionenstadt Kalkutta, sieht das Meer, besucht Bordelle und Bibliotheken, schreibt erste Zeitungsartikel und übersetzt das Kamasutra ins Tibetische, angereichert mit eigenen Erfahrungen. Viele seiner Schriften, Notizen und Skizzen schickt er zurück in die Heimat und vermittelt darin seine Eindrücke der grossen Welt.

Rückkehr nach Tibet (1946-51)
1946 reist Gendun Choephel zurück nach Tibet, Zwischenstation ist die indisch-tibetische Grenzstadt Kalimpong: neben britischen und chinesischen Agenten treffen sich hier auch radikale Tibeter, die bei der Regierung in Lhasa in Ungnade gefallen sind. Sie gründen 1939 die «Tibetische Revolutionspartei». Choephel macht ihre Bekanntschaft und entwirft das Parteisymbol: eine Sichel gekreuzt von einem Schwert. Ziel der Partei ist der Sturz des tyrannischen Regimes in Lhasa. Bei Gendun Choephels Ankunft in Lhasa ist die tibetische Regierung über seine politischen Aktivitäten bereits informiert. Er beginnt an einer politischen Geschichte Tibets zu schreiben, doch seine plötzliche Verhaftung verunmöglicht das Unterfangen. Er wird des Aufstandes bezichtigt und für drei Jahre in den Kerker geworfen. 1949 kommt er frei. Sein Herz ist gebrochen und die Verzweiflung ersäuft er im Alkohol. Wenig später überrollt die chinesische Armee die tibetischen Truppen in Osttibet und 1951 — kurz nach dem Einmarsch der Chinesen in Lhasa, stirbt Gendun Choephel: «Jetzt haben wir den Dreck», soll er die politischen Ereignisse kommentiert haben.